Morning breath

11 Sep

Well that was pleasant guys. Thanks.

The hubby is by now done with tailgating at Psi Delta Upsilon or whatever the name of that frat is at Cal. He and his buddies have doing this for years. I went once – it was not what I expected for tailgating before a football game.

You see, tailgating at a frat is something entirely different. Yes, they still set up the BBQ and grill their meat, but they also do some fancy finger foods and drink champagne. For today’s tasty tidbits, the hubby decided on two different bites. Bite #1 is a mini biscuit with sausage gravy and Bite #2 is mock BLT – bacon and tomato on a crostini with hollandaise sauce and arugula.

My only contribtution – other than sampling – was to bake the crostini this morning for him. They’d just cooled enough for me to start packing them up when my yippy yappy canine doorbells charmingly barked the arrival of my hubby’s buddies at 8:15a this morning. Early. 15 mnutes early. Super – I had planned to hide in the bedroom when the boys got there. Now I’d have no escape.

I’m slightly hungover from last night, my hair is pulled up into a most unattractive bun like thing and I’m wearing PJs – but they’ve seen me looking worse so I sigh and open the door.

Oh howdy all you new people. Why is there a caravan in my driveway? Who are you people and no, no, don’t get our of your SUVs – stop! Oh gawd, I haven’t brushed my teeth. Shit.

Muttering under my oh-so-pleasant-coffee-infused-morning breath, “Hi, nice to meet you”, shook some hands, laughed at the awkwardness of it all.

“Yes those are Koi”… “How many?”… “Oh {clears throat} about 40 or so”… “unh huh…”

They are all duded up with their Go Bear wear, blue and gold jackets, sweatshirts, hats, and was that a foam finger I saw in the back seat of SUV #2?Everyone was happy and smiling and ready to cheer their team on. I, on the other hand, was just ready to cheer them out the door so I could check the mirror for pepper in my teeth and to confirm how bad I think I really looked.

They were only there for maybe 5 minutes, and after they left my suspicions were confirmed. Hair from my bun escaped and was sticking straight up, there was a crumble of I don’t even know what on my cheek, my PJs looked like well, I had slept in them, and yes, my breath was a bit rank.

Good gawd, why didn’t I at least gargle? Would it have killed me to put on some real clothes? Why a bun thingy and not a pony tail? Why do I have to be such a slob?

As I berated myself for my lack of chick-ness this morning, I decided the best way to cheer myself up was to go shopping. For shoes.

2 Responses to “Morning breath”

  1. Nicki September 11, 2010 at 5:27 pm #

    Mmm…shoes! I love them. Never ever been too fat for shoes. Oh, and I understand completely. Been there. Done that. Regularly. HE has his employees over at o’dark thirty all the time and I end up in these awkward meet and greet situations. 😉

  2. Lisa Gardelle September 11, 2010 at 9:41 pm #

    I hope HE appreciates your willingness to support his odarkthirty schedule! I hope you get back at him by buying shoes!

Leave a Reply

