I like to ride my bicycle

31 Oct

Weekends are for getting caught up on chores, or getting caught up on sleep. For having fun – going places and seeing things. For walking, jogging, skating and biking on the various trails we have here in the beautiful East Bay.

But each activity is kinda meant to be done independent of the other. For example, I don’t jog while getting caught up on sleep. And I don’t take a nap during dinner.

And I never – and I mean this – ever ride my bike in the street. Too scary, plus I don’t want the bird flipped at me for riding too slow… But I’ve noticed a growing trend with the over-zealous touring bikers. You’ve seen this too, these are the guys who ride in a pack of 10 or so pals, all wearing nylon shirts and shorts emblazoned with logos and whatnot. Real serious types. They ride very fast – too fast on the trails zinging by me and scaring the crap out of my puppies – but not fast enough on the streets. Which leads me to my point.

If you want to take your touring bike for a long ride with a couple pals – enjoy! If you want to take your touring bike for a long ride on public streets and you’re riding in a pack of 10 or so, get a permit.

You see, your mob of cyclists tends to take over the street, blocking traffic, and infuriating drivers and pedestrians. It’s the ‘critical mass’ mentality we have here where I live that is just really getting out of control.

The collective attitude is “get out of my way, here I come” which is overly aggressive, arrogant, and annoying. Yeah, I get it – you ride your bike, not relying on gas, flipping off the ‘man’, and opposing the depletion of fossil fuels, but here’s the truth – it’s that attitude that encourages us to park our cars in your bike lane and honk when you ride slow and prevent us from making the light. So stop it already.

Yesterday, a she-male was riding on Main Street – no bike lane mind you – and we were about to back into a parking space. Drivers tend to do things like that – we put on the blinker, put the gears in reverse – looked over the shoulder – and saw the lone ranger mounted on her little filly charging upon us. So we waited.

But she was pissed. Flipped us off – told us we were in her way. We were aghast – WTF?

Here’s an idea: stop whining, get off your high horse and go around us. And if you don’t like the fact I’m driving a car and you’re not – get off the road. I have no choice but to drive my car on the road – you do however. So if we’re going to share the road with you, then you need to back off. Oh, and stop it with all the “I’m organic” crap while you’re at it.

7 Responses to “I like to ride my bicycle”

  1. Blogdramedy November 1, 2010 at 1:15 pm #

    Mock on, baby! This is soooo true…they are kind of like some pedestrians I know who hit the crosswalk without looking to their right or left or making eye contact with the driver. I’m convinced that when someone does not look you in the eye they know they are in the wrong and just don’t give a damn.

    • Lisa Gardelle November 13, 2010 at 2:13 pm #

      It’s like the elevator etiquette. If you don’t make eye contact, you’re not really there…

  2. Nicki November 7, 2010 at 9:23 am #

    Too true. I hate driving in our town on weekend mornings. All those weekend warriors out in their spandex. Just too much for me. Mock on.

    • Lisa Gardelle November 13, 2010 at 2:16 pm #

      What’s worse is when these spanx wearing fools waddle into Starbucks with their hats on, sweaty skin, and dusty legs – to order their soy latte’s.

  3. Todd X. December 13, 2010 at 7:12 pm #

    Aww, thanks for the trackback!!

Leave a Reply

