In vino veritas

14 Nov

Sip and spit? Ach. Never.

But spit I must when my sip comes with an special prize inside. Namely, an insect. I don’t know what it was, it wasn’t a fly. It wasn’t a gnat. It was in between. It had wings, or at least it had one wing when I scraped it off my tongue. It had some legs too. I didn’t stop to count. Nonetheless, out she goes. Super sorry.

The odd thing about this was, if this had been a can of Diet Coke, I would have tossed the whole can. But considering I’m on a wine restriction of sorts (due to my abuse of said wine lately), there was NO way I was going to pour out even one drop of my precious alotted elixir.

And thankfully, my pal Cherie had just told me the germ-killing benefits of wine consumption, so I figured it’d do me no harm to drink the liquid the mystery bug had been swimming in.  I mean, you don’t throw out the baby with the bath water do you? Or something like that.

I’ve visited many many wineries over the years – I know how a “crush” really works. Trust me peeps when I say that you are drinking fermented bugs. It’s called terroir – a silly french word that means “of the earth”. You see, grapes take on the flavors of the environment that surrounds them – blah blah blah.

When I taste a chardonnay and it reminds me of cat-pee, I know immediately that Whiskers the barn cat was present before fermentation.

Do I care? Yes, when buying the bottle, not drinking the glass from it. At least, not tonight. The truth is what it is. Drink on baby.

4 Responses to “In vino veritas”

  1. Fabulously Awkward November 15, 2010 at 1:55 pm #

    YES. Alcohol kills any bug contamination. Duh. (However, if I put a glass up to my lips and it made me think of cat pee, I think I’d have to draw the line there.)

  2. Boldly Mocking November 15, 2010 at 2:15 pm #

    Good point, and while it may look like pee, rarely does it smell like a litter box – it’s only when you sip it that you realize the funky fact. That’s the humorour part of winemaking I suppose.

  3. Deanna November 15, 2010 at 7:25 pm #

    Haha, people would be sick if they knew some of the things that went into their food! My husband has worked at a few food factories and whatever bugs come along with the produce are usually chopped up and pureed along with the food! BTW, thanks for stopping by my blog; I’m loving yours so far!

    • Boldly Mocking November 15, 2010 at 9:19 pm #

      The first time I saw a cockroach at a restaurant I realized, yep, there’s food here.

      Bring on the bug wine. And the bug salad.

      And thank you for stopping by – visit often and tell your friends!

Leave a Reply

