A new dawn, a new day

1 Jan

And I’m feeling good. Except for this screeching headache. And lack of sleep.

As I ponder the death of 2010, I reflect back on the year that went down fighting. When 2010 first arrived, she brought with her a shitload of baggage, wearing her support hose and thunder-wear so I knew she was in for the long haul. She moved right on in never asking, never apologizing. 2010 was like the zit I had before Prom – big, red, and fugly.

While 2010 was a wily bitch, never directly insulting me – she was  absolutely mocking me (ME!) and sniggering while I was all akimbo. As I look back now, I wish I had been more Duke Nukem and less Patty Duke when 2010 started punking me.

So as the new year knocks on my door, insisting 2010 move her crap out, I realize I have some choices about how long I’ll put up with 2011’s antics. I can either sit down and take it like a wuss; stand up and take it like a man; or channel my inner Xena and throw a weapon at the problem.

I like the latter the best. And I’ll take any opportunity to rock a warrior princess costume. As long as it comes with 4″ gladiator heels that is.

I could sooooo wear this outfit!

6 Responses to “A new dawn, a new day”

  1. Mom January 1, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

    Ahhh, those were the days! 3″ heels were my speed and now it’s flat shoes forever unless I wear my limo shoes (you know, walk to the car, walk into the restaurant, walk back to the car . .)

  2. blitzedblogger January 1, 2011 at 3:26 pm #

    Eff 2010. Right in the A.

  3. Nicki January 2, 2011 at 8:01 am #

    Great analogies. I’m going to channel my inner-Xena, too. (I love rocking a leather bustier…) And did someone say something about some weapons?

  4. pattypunker January 6, 2011 at 5:53 pm #

    that warrior princess costume would look smoking hot on you, girlfriend. let’s all keep our Xena’s alive and kicking!

    • Boldly Mocking January 6, 2011 at 6:30 pm #

      Muchas gracias Punker! Kicking some A in the new year fo sho!

Leave a Reply

