40+ and fabulous?…

25 Jul

40andFabulousI’m definitely fabulous.

I’m definitely 40+.

So why the question mark?

Yes, I get it people, I’m OVER FORTY… Middle aged. But I don’t feel old, except when I jump off the couch and get the ankle shots, or throw my back into spasms when I bend over to pick up some shoes from the floor. Then, I definitely feel my somewhat advanced age.

Is 40 the new 30? Since I’m now closer to 50, is 50 the new 30? Please tell me yes.

I was having a conversation yesterday with a 30-something and a 20-something about kids. The 20-something doesn’t have any and is not in a hurry to kick start her baby-making machine. The 30-something is adamant that if she’s gonna have another kid, it must happen NOW, before she turns 40. Because you know, HER EGGS ARE DYING. As a childless woman myself, I had very little to add to the conversation, but it got me scratching my head about how old I felt. Or rather, how young I felt.

Whatever you feel about your age, here’s a few things you should know about (some, maybe not all) the single women over 40:

  1. We love our high heels and designer handbags. Maybe the younger gals feel the same way, but we devote entire closets to our collections. Mine have commandeered the linen closet, relegating the towels and sheets to various outposts.
  2. We take vitamins and have a serious skin care routine. If it weren’t for the Ginkgo Biloba, we’d probably forget to take off our eyelash extensions at night.
  3. We are fine not knowing all the pesky little details about everything. This is partly because we’d need to find our reading glasses, and partly because we just won’t remember them.
  4. We wear cute fedora’s. Not only does it say what a young hipster we are, but it hides our gray roots.
  5. We do the botox. If you seem surprised by this, perhaps you should consider it as well. Just make that face in the mirror. You know, the one that makes your forehead resemble high winds on the river. That one.
  6. We like younger men. Nobody thinks erectile dysfunction is sexy. NOBODY. And besides, the guys our age are home in their barcaloungers drinking Bud Light and watching sports.
  7. We wear yoga pants. Sometimes, we even go to yoga. But mostly it’s because our weight is fluctuating in anticipation of menopause.
  8. We want to turn back the clock. Not too far, mind you, but far back enough to match the outside with how we feel inside. Kinda like matching the curtains to the carpet, if hard wood floors weren’t so popular today.

Right now, at 47, I have more confidence and courage in who I am and what I have to offer the world than I did when I was 20- or 30-something. So while my skin might be a little bit thinner in places, it’s a lot thicker in others.

Am I fabulous? Um, yes. As a professional, as a woman, as a friend, as a lover. No question about it.

8 Responses to “40+ and fabulous?…”

  1. Blogdramedy July 25, 2013 at 12:00 pm #

    Love the skin you’re in, babe. As I’m married I don’t do item five. If I did, the Mister wouldn’t know when I was kidding. 😉

    • Lisa July 26, 2013 at 10:46 am #

      Ah, perhaps that was the root cause of my own marital demise.

      🙂

  2. Riki Ghofranian July 25, 2013 at 4:33 pm #

    I couldn’t agree with you more !!! As a childless woman myslf..I feel much younger than those with children. And Forty is Fabulous !!

    • Lisa July 26, 2013 at 10:45 am #

      I suspect we feel younger because we’re not living our children’s lives, and based on what some of our mom’s with kids post (we know who they are), those kids are exhausting!

      🙂

  3. Marie Nicole July 26, 2013 at 12:19 pm #

    Hey! I’m 47 too, but I live deep in DenialVille. I wear almost nothing other than short shorts, and surround myself with teen culture (my excuse is the necessary research for writing YA fiction).

    p.s. I agree, being childless helps keep us younger looking. I think when babies come out they suck the youthful side right out of us

    • Lisa July 26, 2013 at 1:35 pm #

      Rock on lady! /m\./m\

      Badass chicks rule, amiright?

  4. Nick Druga II (@NickSilly) July 26, 2013 at 2:19 pm #

    You have fabulous legs, that’s for damn sure.

    • Lisa July 26, 2013 at 3:30 pm #

      Thank you darlin! (She says with a southern drawl, with a hint of Valley Girl for added charm…)

Leave a Reply

